The states of the United States have individual and unique governments with many similarities. All states are required by the constitution to have republican governments. Despite their similarities, all states have different government structures and procedures.

Each state in the United States has a legislative branch as part of its civil government. The constitutions of each state provide the fundamental details of the legislature. Forty-nine state legislatures are bicameral bodies; i.e., having two bodies or chambers. These legislatures are composed of a lower house (Assembly, General Assembly, State Assembly, House of Delegates or House of Representatives) and an upper house (Senate). Nebraska is the only state with a unicameral body.

Specific details on each state’s legislative process, proposed bills and laws can be accessed via their individual web sites. A listing of the individual state’s websites is provided by clicking/selecting State Legislatures.

Alabama AL


Alaska AK


Arizona AZ


Arkansas AR


California CA


Colorado CO


Connecticut CT


Delaware DE


Florida FL


Georgia GA


Hawaii HI


Idaho ID


Illinois IL


Indiana IN


Iowa IA


Kansas KS


Kentucky KY


Louisiana LA


Maine ME


Maryland MD


Massachusetts MA


Michigan MI


Minnesota MN


Mississippi MS


Missouri MO


Montana MT


Nebraska NE


Nevada NV


New Hampshire NH


New Jersey NJ


New Mexico NM


New York NY State Assembly

State Senate


North Carolina NC


North Dakota ND


Ohio OH


Oklahoma OK


Oregon OR


Pennsylvania PA


Puerto Rico PR State Senate


Rhode Island RI


South Carolina SC


South Dakota SD


Tennessee TN


Texas TX


Utah UT


Vermont VT


Virginia VA http://www.legis,


Washington WA


West Virginia WV


Wisconsin WI


Wyoming WY